

## **ONTARIO LACROSSE ANNOUNCES 2024 HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES**

TORONTO, ON – November 18th, 2024 – The Ontario Lacrosse Association (OLA) hosted its 2024 Awards Banquet and Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on November 9<sup>th</sup>, 2024, at White Oaks Resort & Spa in Niagara-On-The-Lake. The event recognized the exceptional contributions of individuals within the lacrosse community, bringing together key OLA contributors, including staff, Board of Directors, Board of Governors, volunteers, organizers, partners, distinguished players, Hall of Fame Alumni, and executives, along with family and friends.

The evening began with a cocktail reception, offering guests the opportunity to connect and celebrate the sport. Master of Ceremonies Chuck Miller welcomed attendees, expressing gratitude for their continued support of lacrosse in Ontario. The OLA acknowledged the hard work and dedication of its staff, Board of Directors, and Board of Governors, inviting them to stand and be recognized for their outstanding contributions.

Additionally, Hall of Fame and Life Members from both Ontario Lacrosse and Lacrosse Canada were honoured, with special recognition given to their lasting impact on the sport. The segment was concluded by a heartfelt grace spoken by Dace Vernon, Commissioner of the Ontario Junior "B" Lacrosse League.

As guests enjoyed dinner, the awards ceremony unfolded, highlighting the presentation of five prestigious awards and the induction of six new members into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame. The event celebrated individuals whose significant contributions have played a key role in the growth and success of lacrosse in Ontario.

# **Class of 2024 Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame Inductions**

#### Allen "Arbor" Diabo

Kahnawake | Special Contributor Category | Box

Allen "Arbor" Diabo, a respected figure in the lacrosse community, has made significant contributions to the sport, particularly in Kahnawake. As a coach, he led the Kahnawake Junior lacrosse team to an undefeated 21-0 record in 2005, culminating in a Quebec Junior Lacrosse League Championship. Beyond his coaching achievements, Diabo has been an active advocate for the sport's history, serving as the Chair of the Kahnawake Hall of Fame Committee from 2014 to 2016. His dedication to lacrosse and his community earned him a well-deserved induction into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2024.

#### **Bill "Foxy" Fox**

Pickering | Officiating Category | Box & Field

Bill Fox is a distinguished figure in Ontario lacrosse, known for his exceptional contributions both on and off the field. As a player, he excelled in multiple leagues, including the OLA Senior A and Junior A levels, earning numerous championships. He also made a lasting impact as a coach and official, serving in various roles with the Ontario Lacrosse Association and other organizations. Fox's commitment to the sport extended to his work as a mentor, helping to develop future generations of players and officials. His contributions were recognized with his induction into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2024.



#### **Frank Lawrence**

St. Catharines | Officiating Category | Box & Field

Frank Lawrence is a highly respected figure in the Ontario lacrosse community, renowned for his exceptional contributions as both a player and a coach. Over his playing career, he was a key member of the Owen Sound North Stars, leading them to multiple championships in the Ontario Lacrosse Association's Junior A and Senior A leagues. As a coach, Lawrence had a significant impact on the development of players, particularly in the junior ranks, where he coached several teams to provincial titles. Beyond his on-field achievements, he was a dedicated volunteer, serving in numerous administrative roles and helping to grow the sport at the grassroots level. His dedication to lacrosse earned him a well-deserved induction into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2024.

#### John Fusco

Brooklin | Player Category | Box

John Fusco is a celebrated figure in Ontario lacrosse, known for his significant contributions as a player, coach, and volunteer. As a player, he was a standout in both box and field lacrosse, excelling in the Ontario Lacrosse Association's Senior A and Junior A leagues. Fusco also made his mark as a coach, guiding teams to multiple championships, and played an instrumental role in mentoring young athletes. In addition to his on-field achievements, he dedicated countless hours to administrative roles, including with the Ontario Lacrosse Association, where his leadership and vision helped grow the sport at both the provincial and national levels. Fusco's lifelong commitment to lacrosse earned him a well-deserved induction into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2024.

## John "JT" Tavares

Mississauga | Player Category | Box

John Tavares is widely regarded as one of the greatest players in the history of lacrosse, with an illustrious career that spanned over two decades. Known for his exceptional scoring ability and leadership, Tavares played for the Buffalo Bandits in the NLL and had a highly successful career in the Ontario Lacrosse Association (OLA). He was an 11-time NLL All-Star, a two-time NLL Champion, and holds numerous records, including the all-time points and goals leader in the NLL. Tavares also had a remarkable career with the Oakville Rock and the Toronto Beaches in box lacrosse, earning multiple championships and accolades. His contributions to the sport, both on and off the turf, have made a lasting impact, and he was rightfully inducted into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2024.

## Mary-Anne "Molly" McIntyre

Belleville | Builder Category | Women's Field

Mary Ann McIntyre is a trailblazer in the Ontario lacrosse community, celebrated for her pioneering contributions to women's lacrosse as a player, coach, and administrator. She was a key figure in the development and growth of women's lacrosse in Ontario, playing an integral role in the formation of Ontario Women's Lacrosse and the advancement of the sport at the national level. As a player, McIntyre was known for her skill and leadership on the field, helping to shape the women's game in the province. Beyond her playing career, she served as a coach and mentor, dedicating countless hours to developing young athletes. Her commitment to the sport, along with her significant administrative work, earned her a well-deserved induction into the Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 2024.





John Fusco, Bill Fox, Frank Lawrence, Molly McIntyre and Allen Diabo Ontario Lacrosse Hall of Fame Class of 2024 (not present: John Tavares)